The Transformation of Population Control

Image

It is worthwhile to learn about Edward Bernays, especially if you are reaching for greater self-awareness.  He is the guy who wrote the book on propaganda, literally.  He worked with our government, cigarette companies, and many other entities to transform the way people thought when it came to buying products, ideas, and even values.  He developed his techniques on the structure of his uncle, Sigmund Freud, psychological research and theories.  This is why advertisement appeals to our desires of sex in extreme ways with unrelated products.  The most amazing thing about it is how well it works, even still to today.  Ever since his revolutionary technique was introduced to the masses, the world of consumerism has been kicked into an uncontrollable over drive.  Everybody feels the anxiety of needing more things that we don’t need, even when we are aware that we don’t need it.  It has transformed our sense to believe that is the way to happiness and social acceptance. 

Image

That was the first great impact these techniques had, but there is more.

Edward Bernays worked with our government during the cold war.  At that time, the government was trying to figure out what to do about the masses level of fear.  Bernays suggested that their fears could be encouraged and manipulated to have the desired effects.  This is why communism became an exploited fear in the 1950s.  It was used against Guatemala with the help of C.I.A. agent Howard Hunt, and Bernays’ own news company, The Middle American Information Bureau.  Once the people believed Guatemala to be a threatening communistic neighbor, the bombs could drop without internal opposition. 

Image

These methods are still being used today.  Our desires and fears are strings that are easily pulled.  I can’t figure out whether it is unrealized by the masses or just accepted as our way of doing business.  Most of my friends are content with being absorbed by television and video games.  When I try to talk to them about things that clearly matter more than staring at flashing pixels, they make condescending remarks and label me as “one of THOSE guys”.  Meanwhile, people are suffering in ways unimaginable due to our ignorance and or apathy.  This is what people mean when they say that many people are not awake or aware.  If you take offense to that, then it means that deep down you know it to be true in yourself, but your constructed identity is defending itself.  Most of us are just a result of manipulation, and that is a hard reality to swallow.

Image

Wake up.

    • thesubterraneanworld
    • June 1st, 2012

    Thank you for sharing!
    Blessings,
    -Naima.

    • Your welcome Naima! As always, thank you for hearing.

        • thesubterraneanworld
        • June 1st, 2012

        It is my absolute pleasure! 🙂
        -Naima.

  1. The state of consciousness is dwindling. Its a sad and scary world right now. I completely agree with your posts. I am also called “one of those guys” by many people. The problem is, is that I wouldn’t be so worried if it wasn’t completely true. I feel like if people were more conscious about our lives we would be living in a great place. Instead we are sucked in by the newest tv shows and video games. Great post!

    • Thanks Cam, it kinda feels like an episode of the twighlight zone. We are deep within the population. Many people tell me that they try not to think about this kind of stuff because it is too much and it is not worth it to ruin your day. I have seen too much suffering to be able to accept that response without boiling over.

  2. This is a very awesome post. When I was teaching a few years back, the one thing I told the kids every time before I started class was, “Question everything. Search for the answers. Don’t ever be content to be TOLD what is true.” Of course, I was teaching Sunday School classes and I was fired. 🙂 If people don’t realize that they are being manipulated by those in power (politics, media, etc), then they don’t care to know. And, you’re right – it’s like an episode of Twilight Zone. Very well written, sir. I’m thrilled that I blog hopped over here from Hello, My Sin is…. Well worth the time 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your feedback. And thank you even more for spreading the message of awareness.

    • I was going over my old posts and I saw your comment on here again. It looks as though I responded in a hurry back then and I just wanted to say thank you for the awesome and hilarious comment! Yea, Sunday school is probably not the best avenue for that advice lol! I hope you are doing well as it has been over a year since this post.

      • Thanks! I’m doing pretty well 🙂 Hanging in there, anyhoo, which is all we can ask for the most part.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

