Reverse the Effect

Image

How do you reverse the effects of deliberate mind conditioning? It is a process that is never complete. I am still working on my own. The first step is realizing the extent of the conditioning. Your ego and constructed identity will fight this process to protect the structure it created. You can temper the ego and identity by reminding it that it is not under attack, it is just getting some renovation. At the same time, be aware of what makes you offended and what actions you find yourself justifying. The ego can reveal parts of the structure that were built on false truths that require justifications to keep it together. Put away the justifications and watch how easily that part of the structure falls away. Now you have a clean slate to rebuild with greater awareness than you originally had. Repeat this process everyday in all aspects of your life no matter how big or small. You will only get better at this process so long as you are self reliant with courageous honesty.

    • madisonmckay
    • July 20th, 2013

    Your posts are really refreshing for the mind. I enjoy reading them and can’t wait to read more!

    • Thanks Madison! It sounds like you are having a blast at comic con! I was a huge Batman and Spawn fan. I once had issues 1-100! I have not read any comics for awhile now but I can never forget the wonderful smell of them lol! Nostalgic.

        • madisonmckay
        • July 20th, 2013

        Ah, I wish I was at comic con!! 😦 Sadly I’m just switching through three different live streams all day. You can bet I will be there next year though!

    • prog4
    • July 20th, 2013

    A friend recently said to me (regarding ego) something like – “why not send your ego off on a nice holiday? Tell it how much you appreciate all the hard work it has done for you over the years but that it can now take a well earned rest; you can run the show for a while for yourself – so to speak.”
    (These were not the exact words given but hopefully I have managed to convey the intent)

    • Conveyed clearly as usual Prog! That is a good one because the ego will be like, “hell yea, I deserve it” lol. Another one that I have recently tried applying is to have a loving relationship with my ego as the child. I am here to raise my ego into something as beautiful as possible and not refer to it as unnecessary or a problem to my existence that I have to suppress.

        • prog4
        • July 21st, 2013

        It’s sort of ironic to me you saying that I convey clearly. I more often than not feel I am confused and do not articulate well. Words often seem inadequate. But I suppose as long as you can see my intent it’s good.

      • Words are definitely inadequate for conveying a sense. Objectively I am not sure how clearly you sound to others, but subjectively, and maybe because of relating to the thoughts, your points are generally clear even when you post the whole thought process lol. I do that sometimes too.

    • rka1521
    • July 21st, 2013

    Nice Travis. You are tacking a very significant theme here.

    How do you reverse the effects of deliberate mind conditioning?

    Actually the first step is wanting to liberate oneself for the fetters of the ago. One cannot underestimate the significance of having a conscious need to be free. The second step is to assess the situation as you mention. The third step would be follow practices that deliberately reverse such a conditioning. For instance, one can begin with mindfulness exercises and if the need to be free is overwhelming depending on individual, a strict spiritual path can be undertaken to give this process a clear and sound structure. The last step would be practice constant vigilance against any external challenges that might spoil the work. It is not easy as it looks in the words but the basic nevertheless don’t change.

    The ego can reveal parts of the structure that were built on false truths that require justifications to keep it together.

    Actually it is not the ego that will reveal its dark corners. It is the “true self” in us which will shows us the defects. This is exactly why something else is needed to abolish ego. Ego means the identification with I. It at once cannot be sincere and also abolish itself.

    Now you have a clean slate to rebuild with greater awareness than you originally had.

    A clean slate is the final stage of removing all mental conditioning. Greater awareness is built step by step, while working with the ego. So a mix of lower self and higher self is always there till the process of cleansing is complete.

    You might want to check out Edward Salim Michael’s book The Law of Attention. It is one of the rare wonderful reads I have had in this regard. Though it talks about Nada Yoga primary, it has lot of valuable insights into methods pertaining breaking the barriers of ego.

    • Thank you for the great feedback! You are absolutely right about the first step being “wanting to liberate oneself for the fetters of the ego”.
      Actually it is not the ego that will reveal its dark corners. It is the “true self” in us which will shows us the defects.
      For me, it was easiest to find these defects by watching my ego defend them based on it’s own motives. The ego has no poker face lol because it can’t help but to react, at least internally. I do agree though, that it is the true self that seeks to find these defects.
      This is exactly why something else is needed to abolish ego. Ego means the identification with I. It at once cannot be sincere and also abolish itself.
      I would never want to abolish my ego! This is our opportunity to experience having an ego which is an amazing thing along as the ego does not rule us. My ego is like my child. I love it and care for it, but it should not take the wheel and drive that is for sure. I just want a healthy relationship with it instead of sending it down the river lol.
      That book sounds interesting and thanks for the reference!

        • rka1521
        • July 22nd, 2013

        You are already doing a great job Travis! It is great because there are aesthetics in the ideal you are trying to pursue. And I am sure you have chosen to do it the way it suits best for you. After all, we all have our own way of choosing to manifest happiness and beauty in life through a very personalized and individual ideal. But…it is only when one aims for perfection that things become really hard. You see, mind is a self-referential object. You can cure your mind with your mind, if you know what i mean. But ego is not self-referential and hence it needs to “sublimated and transformed” into something higher and grander by something higher and grander – which is what is our true self.

  1. Great Posts, very much enjoying and taking in much of what you are saying. Thanks for that!
    Much Love, Sandy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

